Tight/stiff glutes and lower back pain

Posted: 05/11/2011 in English, Science and stuff
Tags: , , , ,

Where should I start this? Well, lots of people have lower back pain and sometimes it is not because of your lower back muscles. Stiff or tight glutes can cause pain in your back too. I had it too and my training was not as good as nowadays.

I had massive lower back pain a year ago. I thought I am overtrained or my bed is bad… but NO. I had been searching for the reasons of back pain for 2-3 days and realized glutes is the sinner however I have good hip mobilization.

Tight glutes causes a pulling effect on the lower back which may cause pain and discomfort.  Imagine that something is hanging from the back of your hips and pulling you down.  Obviously if this pulling continues your back will start hurting.  Tight glutes essentially doing that same motion.  This effect usually occurs from lack of flexibility or muscular imbalances.

This issue is easy to solve with some time and continued stretching, foam rolling, and work with active release techniques. If you have 10 minutes a day or after your session do some stretching.

Some good stretching techniques:

1. Cradle sit

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l1_NwSRrWQI&feature=related

2. Cradle walk

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NwedL_KeL5o

3. Ankle on knee Glute Stretch

Sit down with your legs straight. Bend your  left knee and put your left foot to you your bum under your right leg and put the right ankle on your left knee. Gently push down left knee and hold position up to 30 sec. If you you are good at this position try to bend forward.

4. You can use foam roller, medicine ball, tennis ball for self myofascial release.

http://www.synergy-athletics.com/effective-strength-training/lower-back-issues-part-1-tight-glutes/

5. Seated lower back stretch

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t5RtU6Ka1Zw

I hope this article is useful and can help those who suffer lower back pain and the problem is the stiff glutes.

Comments
  1. omalone1 says:

    I’ve been consulting professionals for years and yet just yesterday this was suggested *sigh*

    • I think this is a common cause of pain. I had this problem so I experienced it and really wanted to know what the problem is. So I spent hours with data searching. I think the pros with whom you consulted they have never had this problem so they just told you general causes.

  2. Hey, I think your blog might be having browser compatibility issues.
    When I look at your blog in Ie, it looks fine but when
    opening in Internet Explorer, it has some
    overlapping. I just wanted to give you a quick heads up!
    Other then that, superb blog!

    • Hey, thank you.
      Regarding to the problem I am not really an IT guy so don’t really know what causes the compatibility problem. Anyway, thanks for letting me know.

  3. torque home gym zx-3000 price says:

    This excellent website truly has all the information and facts I needed concerning this subject
    and didn’t know who to ask.

  4. omalone1 says:

    Gwiz. we shall look into these immediately
    i dont think we viewed them last time
    Nice

  5. @TheAinzlee says:

    Great article. jut to let you know that the first YouTube vid isn’t working anymore.

  6. Nuvalift says:

    Thanks a lot for sharing this with all folks you actually understand what you are speaking approximately!

    Bookmarked. Kindly also talk over with my website =).
    We could have a link change arrangement among us

  7. In this case, pressure is usually felt mostly in the lumbar
    area (lower back) and over time, this will result in excruciating
    pain. If a nerve root is brushed by the discogram needle, the nerve root can become irritated causing pain, which will almost always go away quickly.

    This is an important distinction because it is the underlying diagnosis
    (vs.

Leave a Reply

